PO Box 1843,
Toowong DC QLD 4066


  • White LinkedIn Icon

© 2019 Australian Acoustical Society

Plenary Speakers

Professor Jian Kang

Professor of Acoustics, University College London

Jian Kang obtained his BEngArch and MSc from Tsinghua University in Beijing and PhD from University of Cambridge. He has previously worked at the University of Cambridge, the Fraunhofer Institute of Building Physics in Germany, and the University of Sheffield. He has worked in environmental and architectural acoustics for over 30 years, with more than 60 engineering/consultancy projects, over 70 research projects, and more than 800 publications. His work on acoustic theories, design guidance and products has brought improvements to the noise control in underground stations/tunnels and soundscape design in urban areas.


Jian chairs the Technical Committee for Noise of the European Acoustics Association, and European Cooperation in Science and Technology (EU COST) Action on Soundscape of European Cities and Landscapes. He is a Fellow of the UK Institute of Acoustics (FIOA), of the American Society of Acoustics (FASA) and of the International Institute of Acoustics and Vibration (FIIAV) and a Chartered Engineer (CEng). He was awarded IOA Tyndall Medal 2008, and Peter Lord Award 2014, and he is recipient of the prestigious Advanced European Research Council (ERC) Grant on Urban Soundscapes.

Professor Irene van Kamp

National Institute for Public Health and the Environment in the Netherlands
Centre for Sustainability, Environment and Health

Irene van Kamp (NL) was educated at the University of Groningen and the Erasmus University in Rotterdam (Netherlands) and has a background in sociology, psychology and epidemiology. She has a broad interest and experience in working in interdisciplinary teams and policy preparing research.  Since 2000 she has been working as a senior researcher and project manager at the Netherlands National Institute of Public Health and the Environment (RVIM), with an assignment in the field of urban environmental quality and quality of life, and specific expertise in the field of environmental noise.


She is and has been supervising several students (PhD and Msc) on the health impacts of noise and electromagnetic fields, the efficacy of noise interventions, risk perception and risk governance. She was co-author in the review on interventions in the framework of the WHO Environmental Noise Guidelines.


Current projects include mapping the burden of disease from low frequency noise; advising the EU on the use of environmental health indicators in the Environmental Noise Directives; the perception of noise and vibration from rail traffic; and the health promoting role of positive aspects in the sound environment in their physical and social context.


Irene van Kamp is (co) author of some 150 publications and five book chapters. In 2012 she was granted the Dutch Golden Decibel award for her scientific work in the noise domain.

Keynote Speakers

Adjunct Professor John Davy

Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO

Adjunct Professor, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT)

John Laurence Davy holds a BSc (1969) and a BSc(Hons) (1971) from La Trobe University, and a PhD (1974) from the Australian National University. He has conducted research in acoustics since submitting his PhD thesis in 1974.


John is a Fellow of the Australian Acoustical Society and of the United Kingdom Institute of Acoustics.  He is also chairman of the Australian Government’s Independent Scientific Committee on Wind Turbines. He is a member of the National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) Physical Performance Testing Accreditation Advisory Committee (PPT AAC), and until recently was chairman of the Performance and Approvals Testing AAC and a member of the Calibration AAC. He is a director of the International Institute of Acoustics and Vibration and was technical program co-chair for the Inter-noise 2014 conference in Melbourne. He is the author of more than 150 scientific papers and reports.

Dr Kym Burgemeister

Principal | Australasian Acoustics, AV & Theatre Consulting Leader, Arup

Dr Kym Burgemeister is a Principal and Australasian Acoustics Skills Network Leader with Arup.  He completed his PhD in acoustics and vibration at the University of Adelaide before joining Arup in Sydney in 1996.  He has also worked on secondment with Arup Acoustics in Winchester, San Francisco, and at Rail Link Engineering in London.

Kym specialises in acoustic assessments for roads, railways and airports, and in providing community consultation for major infrastructure projects.


Kym is the Noise and Vibration Technical Expert for the Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia (ISCA), providing technical advice regarding noise and vibration aspects of their rating credits.  He is also a member of the Federal Government’s Independent Scientific Committee on Wind Turbines.


He is currently the Noise and Vibration Design Lead for the team of acousticians providing the engineering design for the Melbourne Metro Tunnel project in Victoria, which includes design work to mitigate in-car noise, control groundborne noise and vibration emissions to a range of sensitive receivers, station acoustics and mechanical systems design and construction noise and vibration management.

Mr Nick Wimbush

Deputy Chief Panel Member, Planning Panels Victoria

Nick Wimbush was appointed as Deputy Chief Panel Member in early 2018, following 13 years as a Senior Panel Member and three years as a Sessional Member at Planning Panels Victoria.  He has undergraduate qualifications in environmental science and postgraduate qualifications in public policy and law.  He has nearly 30 years’ experience in environmental impact assessment and environmental planning.  He has worked in the Government and private sector in Australia and overseas.  Nick is a Fellow of the Victorian Planning and Environmental Law Association.


In recent years Nick has been involved in major project assessment including Chairing the West Gate Tunnel Public Inquiry and Advisory Committee and being Deputy Chair of the East West Link (Eastern Section) Project Assessment Committee.  He has chaired public inquiries into nine major wind farm projects in Victoria and other major projects such as the Western Region Landfill (Ravenhall) Inquiry.

Dr Stephen Moore

Acoustic Signature Management Branch, Defence Science and Technology Group

Dr Stephen Moore is a Defence Scientist in the Acoustic Signature Management Branch, Defence Science and Technology Group. The aim of the Branch is to improve the operational effectiveness and survivability of the Navy’s ships and submarines by developing technical solutions to control radiated noise and target echo strength. Stephen conducts research into the vibro-acoustic behaviour of naval platforms and the control of machinery noise and vibration. Prior to joining Defence Science and Technology Group in 2010, Stephen worked as a Noise and Vibration Engineer at PBR Australia and as an Acoustics Consultant at AECOM Australia. He holds a Bachelor of Engineering and Ph.D. from the University of New South Wales.